Disable Secure and NonSecure Items Warning Message

From iMacros
Revision as of 01:07, 12 November 2008 by Tsc (Talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Whenever your browser views secure web pages it usually displays a lock or a key telling the viewer the data shown on this particular web page is secure and safe. In order for the page to be considered safe, ALL the data including images, pages, and more need to be on the secured site. However, sometimes when exiting a secured web page, the exit page will load some items from a part of the site that wasn't secured. In this case, a warning message telling you the "page contains both secure and nonsecure items" is displayed to warn the user.

Page secure and nonsecure items security dialog.png

This warning message is a nice verification that you are leaving a secured site. However, sometimes the message can be just plain annoying, especially if you are visiting the particular web page frequently.

Gmail, is a perfect example, when you exit Gmail the above warning message is displayed. Many times, even when you open individual messages in Gmail the warning will appear. Follow the instructions to remove this warning message.

Secure and nonsecure items security dialog.png

Steps:

1) Open Internet Explorer

2) Click on Tools

3) Click on Internet Options

4) Click on the Security Tab

5) Click on the Custom Level button

6) Under the Miscellaneous section look for "Display Mixed Content"

7) Click on Disable (or Enable!) for Display Mixed Content instead of Prompt

8) Click on OK twice

9) Close Internet Explorer and reopen

10) Open the webpage that was displaying the warning message, the message should not appear now.

Similar Messages

The first time you use IE, or if you just installed an update or reset the browser to it's defaults, you may see these messages (again) while browsing websites that use both Secure and Non-Secure pages. To manually change that setting in IE, go to Tools > Internet Options > Advanced and uncheck the box next to "Warn if changing between secure and non secure mode". Or, the first time the message appears check the box "In the Future, do not show this warning".

A. "When you send information to the Internet, it might be possible for others to see that information. Do you want to continue?"

This message may appear when you click on the "Add to Cart" button on a product page, or fill out another form on the regular site pages. It will only appear if:

1. Your browser settings have "Submit nonencrypted form data" set to "Prompt" (in Internet Options, Security tab, select "Custom Level" to view/change setting)

2. You have not disabled the message (which you can do any time it is displayed)

B. "Security Alert: You are about to leave a secure Internet connection. It will be possible for others to view information you send. Do you want to continue?" or "Warn if changing between secure and non secure mode".

This message will only appear if:

1. Your browser settings have "Warn if changing between secure and not secure mode" checked (in Internet Options, Advanced tab)

2. You have not disabled the message (which you can do any time it is displayed)